AP repaired_3  This is a clock one would typically find in a Canadian schoolroom in the 1930s and 1940s, perhaps even earlier. It is typically referred to as an octagonal short drop, time-only schoolhouse clock.  This is the Arthur Pequegnat Brandon II made by the Arthur Pequegnat clock company, Kitchener, Ontario. There was a series one which has the same dimensions but the frame around the bezel is more ornate. Schoolhouse clocks were time-only because there would usually be other ways, such as a bell, to mark key points in a school day. A strike clock was therefore unnecessary. Brandon clocks also came with calenders which might be useful in a school setting. This one does not have a calendar.

Both the case, which is made of oak, and the brass movement were made by the Arthur Pequegnat Clock Company  in their small Kitchener factory till 1941 whereupon the company abruptly ended production.

Because it is time-only it is a relatively simple movement with few gears and little to go wrong. Moreover, it was reliable, dependable and likely made to withstand a little abuse (lack of servicing, for example) over its lifespan.

I really know very little of this clock. It was owned locally by an antique collector who after having it for a number of years, decided to sell it in his antique shop in Great Village, Nova Scotia. He must have known something of its value because he did not let it go cheaply.AP repaired_7

Having said that, it was a more than fair price. The case is in great shape, so is the face and bezel. The clock had some obvious issues. It would run and keep reasonable time but there was an incessant squeak which no amount of oil would remedy. When I carefully took the face off to oil the clock mechanism I discovered that the first wheel off the escape wheel had considerable pivot hole wear. I cannot do that kind of repair since I don’t have the tools or the knowledge so I decided to seek out a horologist.

I found Doctor Clock in Halifax, Nova Scotia. I brought the clock to them in November of 2014 and explained what I thought needed to be done. They gave me an estimate, the time to complete the job  and I  gave them the go-ahead. It was ready for the Christmas season and it was a welcome gift from my wife to me.

The clock was taken apart, inspected and in the process five bushing were replaced; the spring was cleaned and oiled, the clock was assembled, oiled and tested, all for a very reasonable price. The clock is now happily ticking away in an upstairs hallway. A check with eBay in their clock section revealed that the Arthur Pequegnat Brandon II is commanding more than what I paid for both purchase and repair. I believe that it has been a good investment and I expect it to be ticking away for years to come.

AP repaired_5

